Craig Williams is set to make his tenth appearance in Japan’s World Super Jockeys Series at the expense of participating in Melbourne’s opening Group 1 race of the season.

Williams is one of six foreign-based riders invited for the glamorous event at Sapporo on August 27 and 28, alongside Theo Bachelot (France), David Egan (UK), James Graham (USA), Vincent Ho (Hong Kong) and Coralie Pacaut (France).

It means Williams will miss two Melbourne meetings, a Wednesday fixture at Sandown Lakeside on August 24 but more significantly the Memsie Stakes meeting at Caulfield on August 27 where Tofane and Sinawann, horses Williams has ridden previously, are anticipated to commence their spring campaigns.

Williams has been Melbourne’s in-form rider, the nine-time Melbourne premiership winner successful in 13 metropolitan races from 42 rides since July 13. His winning strike rate sits at 30.95 per cent with a $10 win bet during the period returning a $335 profit.

Australia has been represented 34 times in the World Super Jockeys Series with Williams credited as the only ‘Australian’ winner in 2007, although the Australian-born Zac Purton, representing Hong Kong won in 2012.

Other Australians to have participated in the World Super Jockeys Series includes Michael Clarke, Kevin Moses, Shane Dye, Damien Oliver, Glen Boss, Darren Beadman and Luke Nolen.


2006 (Hanshin): 30 points, equal fifth (finishing position in heats: 8th, 1st, 9th, 9th)
2007 (Hanshin): 47 points, first (14th, 2nd, 1st, 4th)
2008 (Hanshin): 35 points, fourth (4th, 6th, 7th, 3rd)
2009 (Hanshin): 18 points, equal twelfth (7th, 15th, 10th, 5th)
2010 (Tokyo): 32 points, fourth (4th, 4th, 5th)
2012 (Tokyo): 29 points, fifth (5th, 6th, 4th, 11th)
2013 (Hanshin): 29 points, sixth (4th, 7th, 5th, 9th)
2015 (Sapporo): 23 points, equal seventh (7th, 4th, 10th, 7th)
2016 (Sapporo): 35 points, equal sixth (11th, 6th, 7th, 2nd)

Carl Di Iorio

Article –

Pin It on Pinterest